37th Annual SAB Sports Media Awards 2017 are here

The South African Breweries (SAB) Sports Media Awards 2017 has opened for entries.


Entrants have until Friday 6 October 2017, to consolidate eligible material and submit via the online portal that opened today.


Currently in its 37th year, the SAB Sports Media Awards acknowledges and recognises the work of dedicated members of the South African media who excel in reporting sport across print, digital, video and audio mediums as well as photography.


“For close on four decades we have had the privilege of recognising and rewarding those members of the media who excel in the reporting of sport in South Africa and to encourage quality standards and awareness of important sporting issues facing the country,” saysRobyn Chalmers, Director Communications: AB InBev Africa and SAB.


The categories for the SAB Sports Media Awards 2017 are:


  • Audio Media Award(Radio)
  • Digital Media Award
  • Photography Award(Print and online)
  • Video Media Award(Television)
  • Written Media Award(Print)
  • The Newcomer of The Year (sports journalists with less than two years’ experience in the industry)
  • Sports Media Hall of Fame
  • Sports Journalists’ Journalist of the Year

All main category winners receive a cash prize of R15,000 with the winner of the Photography sub-category “Action Shot of the Year” receiving R5,000.


The awards will also acknowledge a deserving candidate into the SAB Sports Hall of Fame and Sports Journalists’ Journalist of the Year.


Entries open today and close on Friday, 6 October 2017 at 17h00.


Entrants are to submit work published between 1st October 2016 and 30th September 2017.


For information and submissions, go to www.sabsportsmedia.co.za.


Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday, 23 November 2017.


Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.