Mabhida to host MTN8 Final

Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium will host the 2017/18 MTN8 final on Saturday, 14 October 2017. The match will kick-off at 19h00.

The MTN8 final makes a return to the stadium three years after the sold-out MTN8 final between Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates in 2014.

The 2015 and 2016 MTN8 finals were played in Nelson Mandela Bay and Mbombela.


The 2017/18 edition will be contested by Cape Town City and SuperSport United. While Cape Town City will be making their first ever MTN8 final appearance, SuperSport have been down this road before having finished as runners up in 2012 to Moroka Swallows.


The PSL has confirmed that ticket prices for the MTN8 final will be R40 for adults and R15 for children under the age of 12.


PSL acting Chief Executive Mato Madlala said: “The 2017 edition of the MTN8 has already proven to be thrilling and entertaining so far. We have no doubt that in the final at the Moses Mabhida Stadium, we will watch high quality football between two clubs, SuperSport United and Cape Town City. There has been a lot of consultation in the last few days between the PSL, sponsors MTN and the two clubs to ensure that we go to a venue that will cater and serve the purpose of the occasion. We are happy that at the end of the day we agreed on Moses Mabhida as a venue. We are looking forward to the MTN8 Cup final in a months’ time.”


“We are very pleased with the choice of venue, it shows we are taking the game to the fans. Durban has hosted MTN8 final for four years since its inception and we believe football loving fans will embrace us again this year. This year the tournament celebrates a decade by showing how MTN has and will continue to make football fans’ lives brighter through the Last Fan Standing competition. MTN8 is giving an opportunity for football fans to win prizes as well as take part in the ultimate LFS competition to stand a chance to win R 1 million cash and trip to Russia in 2018 with seven friends or family. In addition, MTN subscribers attending the MTN8 final will receive 500MB of free data at the stadium;” said Mapula Bodibe, Consumer Business Executive at MTN SA.


The League will communicate ticketing information in due course. Tickets will be available at TicketPro outlets. For more information, visit our digital media pages: Twitter/FB: @OfficialPSL and #MTN8Final

#MTN8Final History

Year Venue Winners Runner-up
2008 Absa Stadium, Durban Kaizer Chiefs Mamelodi Sundowns
2009 Orlando Stadium, Johannesburg Golden Arrows Ajax Cape Town
2010 Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban Orlando Pirates Moroka Swallows
2011 FNB Stadium, Johannesburg Orlando Pirates Kaizer Chiefs
2012 Orlando Stadium, Johannesburg Moroka Swallows SuperSport United
2013 Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban Platinum Stars Orlando Pirates
2014 Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban Kaizer Chiefs Orlando Pirates
2015 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium Ajax Cape Town Kaizer Chiefs
2016 Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit Bidvest Wits Mamelodi Sundowns
2017 Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban


Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.